We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

About Durham University

Charitable Status

The University of Durham, established by Act of Parliament in 1832 and the granting of a Royal Charter in 1837, operates under the preferred name 'Durham University'.

Charitable status

The University is an educational charitable and chartered corporation, exempt from registration with the Charity Commission under the terms of the Charities Act 2011. The University’s Royal Charter number is RC000650. Under the Charities Act 2006, the University is registered as a provider with the Office for Students. The OfS supervises Universities as principal regulator and has a duty to promote universities' compliance with charity legislation.

Trustees of the University

The Council, the governing and executive body of the University, is its Trustee Board. Members of Council are therefore the Trustees of the University - a full list can be found here. Where members of the Council also serve as trustees of other organisations, details are recorded here.

Further information about the role and activities of the Council can be found here.

Financial Statements

The University's current Financial Statements, along with those of previous years, is available here.

Queries relating to the Financial Statements should be addressed in the first instance to the Head of Financial Services.

Paragraph 28 Charities

The University of Durham has identified 18 charities which represent paragraph 28 charities under Schedule 3 of the Charities Act 2011. Consolidated information about paragraph 28 charities is available in the Financial Statements of the University.


The primary contact address for the University is:

Palatine Centre,
Durham University,
Stockton Road,

Queries regarding the charitable status of the University should be addressed in the first instance to the University Secretary.

Constitutional Documents

The University's primary constitutional documents are its Royal Charter (copies available on request) and the Statutes of the University, which were established by the Universities of Durham and Newcastle Upon Tyne Act 1963. The Statutes of the University are available in the University Calendar.

The Privy Council approved a number of changes to the Statutes in July 2011.

Statement on Modern Slavery

The University's Modern Slavery Statement can be found here.